The Things I Am Thankful for …

It’s Thanksgiving, and although this is more of an American tradition, it’s something that’s worth adopting because it is something that brings out the best in people.

According to President Thomas S. Monson:

“This is a wonderful time to be living here on earth. Our opportunities are limitless. While there are some things wrong in the world today, there are many things right, such as teachers who teach, ministers who minister, marriages that make it, parents who sacrifice, and friends who help.

“We can lift ourselves, and others as well, when we refuse to remain in the realm of negative thought and cultivate within our hearts an attitude of gratitude. If ingratitude be numbered among the serious sins, then gratitude takes its place among the noblest of virtues”

So here’s my list of the things I am thankful for:

I am thankful for a loving Father in Heaven who loves me unconditionally. He answers my prayers, He has given me EVERYTHING that I need; and I always feel his love for me every single day. He has not left me alone, and I feel that he never gives up on me.

I am thankful for the example of my Savior Jesus Christ. He has atoned for my sins and for this I will always be grateful to Him. He has set an example for me to follow – He has shown me the way and taught me that nothing is impossible because He did it. And because He was able to do it, I, too, can, with His help.

I am thankful for my parents. I hope they know how much I love them. There are so many things in the past that I did that I’m sure have caused them a lot of heartaches, but I know they’ve forgiven me, and for this I am very grateful. I love them very, very much and I hope in my small ways I have made them proud of me.

I am thankful for my husband. He has always been the “wind beneath my wings”. He encouraged me (and still continues to encourage me) to soar high and be the best that I can ever be. Ours is not a perfect love story, but I can not ask for more from a man who gave me everything he has …

I am thankful that Heavenly Father entrusted to me five of His beautiful, kind, smart, intelligent, obedient, loving children. They make my life challenging because I have to “walk my talk”. My children inspires me and they give reason and meaning to all the things that I do every day. They give my life purpose, and they inspire me to “run and not be weary”. They learn from me but I also learn a lot from them. At this point in my life, my children have taught me so much, and I am humbled to be their mother. I hope I taught them well … and I hope that they will never forget the things (and the truths) we have taught them while they’re growing up.

I am thankful that I have two wonderful sisters – Charry and Carla. I love them with all my heart … and I miss them each and every single day. For this reason I am grateful for text messages and social networking sites because through them we are able to communicate despite the distance between us.

I am thankful for loving cousins, and how I wish we can all get together again soon and talk about our childhood … the good times, the fun times …

I am thankful for the gift of talents and skills.

I am thankful for the gift of friends. You know who you are. Please know that I am so blessed to have you in my life.

I am thankful for all my dedicated teachers. They have in so many ways influenced me for good.

I am grateful for the opportunity to pursue higher education.

I am grateful for all the opportunities to serve.

I am grateful for work and for kind employers.

I am grateful for opportunities to travel … and for the kind friends who shared their blessings with me – Sue and Cora …

I am grateful for music.

I am thankful for delicious food.

I am thankful for the Internet.

For the countless more blessings that are simply too many to mention here, I thank my Father in Heaven and my Savior Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

