Now I Know Why the Timing Was Just Right!

Cebu Temple

It has been days and still I can not help the tears from falling every time I remember the people who caused this much pain and heartache to me and my family. What has made this more difficult is the fact that the timing, we all felt, was simply not right. We are about to send off our first missionary to the field and we wanted her last few days with us to be full of laughter, good memories, and love, enough to sustain her for the next 18 months. But somehow, something came up, something we did not expect to happen in our lifetime. Today, this very moment, barely two days away from her departure to the MTC, I am still struggling … and hurting.

Why now? Why them? Then I came across my daughter’s post entitled THE REASON  in her Blog, and from her own words I understood everything. It all became clear to me that the timing is not wrong as I first believed it to be. In fact, I now understand why the timing was just right, and why this happened one week prior to her entering the MTC.

In life, there are lessons more effectively learned through experience, through adversity. Now I can truly say I know better…

Now I know how much my children love me. They tried to shield me from what happened because they did not want me to be hurt.

What pains me the most however is the sad fact that what happened did not just hurt me, it hurt my children more.  But I am grateful that out of this sad experience, we found strength in each other, and I believe in the end, that is what matters most.

It was a lesson well learned, and now we know better.

Below is a story I read from a social networking site and I’m sharing it here hoping that somehow, it will help others as much as it helped me.

Here’s the story:

Once an old man spread rumors that his neighbor was a thief. As a result, the young man was arrested. Days later the young man was proven innocent. After being released he sued the old man for wrongly accusing him. 

In the court, to justify his actions, the old man told the Judge: “They were just comments, it didn’t harm anyone.” The judge replied: “Write all the things you said about him on a piece of paper. Cut them up and on your way home, throw the pieces of paper out. Tomorrow, come back to hear the sentence.

The following day, the judge told the old man: “Before I pronounce the sentence, you will have to go out and gather all the pieces of paper that you threw out yesterday.”

To which the old man replied: “I can not do that! The wind spread them and I won’t know where to find them.”

The judge then replied:

The same way is true with what you did to this young man. Simple comments can destroy the honor of a man to such an extent that one is not able to fix it.  If you can’t speak well of someone, rather don’t say anything.”

What do you think happened to the old man?

Here’s the moral of the lesson: 

Let’s all be masters of our mouths, so that we won’t be slaves of our words.

Us at the Temple

 


Leave a Reply

