Why I Want My Future Son-In-Laws to Understand the Young Women Theme

  
I know someday soon, young men will finally come to me and ask my permission so they can take my daughters out on a date. Will I say yes? Of course! Dating is essential so that two people will have the opportunity to get to know each other well. There’s one requirement though, that I will ask each and every young man who will come to me – I’d ask him to recite to me  the Young Women Theme. To many of you, this may sound absurd, but I hope before you say that, I hope you’ll find time to read first what the Young Women Theme is all about.

The Young Women Theme

WE ARE DAUGHTERS of our Heavenly Father, who loves us, and we love Him. We will stand as witnesses of God at all times, and in all things, and in all places, as we strive to live the Young Women values, which are:

  • Faith
  • Divine Nature
  • Individual Worth
  • Knowledge
  • Choice and Accountability
  • Good Works
  • Integrity, and
  • Virtue

We believe as we come to accept and act upon these values, we will be prepared to strengthen home and family, make and keep sacred covenants, receive the ordinances of the temple, and enjoy the blessings of exaltation.

Bottom line, a young man who understands the YW Theme, respects it and promises to uphold it for my daughter’s sake is worth dating … and maybe, if the feeling is there, in the right time, in the right place, and with the right authority … marrying!

2 thoughts on “Why I Want My Future Son-In-Laws to Understand the Young Women Theme”

Leave a Reply

