Smiles at Bethany Children’s Home!

I still think of her … when I close my eyes I see her tiny sparkling and very expressive eyes. How can I forget? She looked at me while I was feeding the little boy next to her. I remember seeing her open her mouth every time the boy I was attending to opened his mouth for his spaghetti. I wanted to reach out to her and feed her too, but beside me was a kind Australian gentleman who was, at that time, asking the lady in-charge (who was seated across the table) about the adoption process and requirements. There was simply no room to move, and all I could do was talk to her.

It was the day after Christmas and we were in this orphanage called Bethany Children’s Home in Talakag, Bukidnon, almost 30-minute drive from Cagayan de Oro. Our friend’s daughter celebrated her birthday there and we tagged along, us and more or less 25 other family friends and relatives. Earlier in the day Ashley was baptized by her Dad and then we were invited by her family to join them in the children’s orphanage.

As we were about to finish and leave, I turned to Ashley’s Mom who was seated beside me. I told her “Thank you” … for inviting us to join them. I could not stop the tears from falling. I was overwhelmed with emotions. I was just so grateful for the chance to be able to help bring a smile to the faces of the children in that orphanage.

These children are all waiting for families to adopt them. We were told during our visit that two children were recently picked up by their new families just days before Christmas. I wondered how the other children felt when they said goodbye to their two friends? I wondered if they also wished someone will come along soon to get them as well so they too, will have a family they can call their own?

Maybe you would like to help them too.  You don’t have to adopt them. Maybe you have toys that you don’t need anymore, extra clothing that your children have outgrown, or maybe you have food to share? Please share them to these little children. It will make a big difference in their lives … and yours as well!

Leave a Reply

