Can I Do Yoga Even If I’m Overweight?

ID-10022277

This question has been on my mind for some time now. The reason? Because I want to lose weight. Now I have been there, lost a lot of pounds before through diet and walking. One thing I realized though, and I knew this all along, for weight loss to be permanent, one has to do a lifestyle change. It’s more than just changing the foods consumed; it also means exercise daily to burn calories and keep the heart pumping well!

Why Yoga? Well, I happen to know someone, her name is Beth.  She’s not overweight like me, and she’s a little older, a year older perhaps, but she’s definitely slim and sexy.  I saw her pictures doing yoga one day, and I just could not believe it! My mouth stayed open for a long time because of awe! She was simply amazing! She can stand on her head (not literally on her head; she uses her arms to balance herself while she’s upside down), she can bend her body like a rubber band, and she can stay and do poses without moving. Seeing her made me want to try yoga too! She’s now my inspiration!

Plus, I’ve heard friends say that Yoga is good because it helps in burning calories, thus aiding in weight loss. But I have a problem, I am overweight! Can someone heavy like me do yoga? To find answers to my question, I did a little research and here’s what I found.

Yes, I can Do Yoga Even If I Am Overweight!

There are many yoga styles, and depending on what is wanted, one can actually choose which style to do. So for someone like me who’s on the heavy side, I found out that there are a few styles that I can choose from, such as Lyengar Yoga, Kripalu Yoga, or Viniyoga. These three styles are slow and are focused on safe alignment, something that’s crucial for people who have been injured, are out of shape, and who may be suffering from chronic medical condition.

What to do next?

This is my next concern: what should I do next?

According to health experts, it is best to seek the help of someone who is a certified yoga instructor. Doing the yoga poses and exercises without proper guidance can actually do more harm than good. It can result to injuries that may require medical intervention. Some of the worst injuries resulting from improper yoga exercises or poses are injuries to the spine and severe osteoporosis. Well, I am not so akin to getting injured, so I have decided to find someone who can help me begin my journey with yoga.

I’m excited though! I can already imagine what’s going to happen. I’m not really sure at this point if I will really lose weight or if I will look as good as the lady in the picture here, but I know one thing for sure –  yoga is more than just stretching the bones and muscles of the body – it also deals with strict discipline. I guess this last factor – strict discipline – is the key! If I will be able to master yoga, it means I have conquered myself!  Now this part is the hardest, because just as I am about to end writing this piece,  I smell Patola with shrimp being sauteed in the kitchen. This means lunch is almost ready! My oh my …. good luck to me!

 

Image courtesy of Ambro / FreeDigitalPhotos.net” 

 

Leave a Reply

