Reading: A Beautiful Love Affair … With Books!

 

♥ Zoey Yap ♥

I was browsing through a social networking site one morning when I saw a very striking and beautiful picture of a young girl reading a book under their dining table. I felt warm inside me … my thoughts while looking at the picture was that of awe – admiration. How blessed this girl is … she loves to read. I believe that the love for reading opens for the person the window to an amazing world. It allows immeasurable possibilities for discovery and growth. It is a gift not everyone has … like not very many people love reading.

Looking back, I vividly remember the feeling I had when, during my son’s Parent-Teacher Meeting, his class adviser Mr. Angni told me about his concern with my son. He told me “Ma’am, your son keeps on reading books”. He continued … “I observed he’d rather read his books than play around with his friends. Every time there’s a break, however short, he’d always get his book and sit in a corner and read …”

Well, that came as no surprise to me, what the teacher said, because I knew already. He reads book at home, too, voraciously!

For a parent like me who also loves to read, I didn’t see anything wrong with it. Of course I know that reading books has to be regulated, too! Like there’s a good time to read and then there are other things to do besides reading, like answering assignments and doing house chores. I am just glad that my son prefers to read than watch television; that he favors reading than playing online games.

The love for reading good books is invaluable, and it has been said that …

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.

~Charles W. Eliot

 “Happy is he who has laid up in his youth, and held fast in all fortune, a genuine and passionate love of reading.”

~Rufus Choate

And as a mother, let me borrow the words of Anna Quinden when she said …

I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves.  ♥♥♥

John Romelson

Leave a Reply

