Zumba: A Fun Way to Lose Weight!

Have you heard about the latest craze called Zumba? I did, and I thought it’s just another dance from a foreign country (obviously because of the foreign-sounding name – you’d think it’s from Africa or something …). One thing I’m sure about it though, many people loved it because according to them, it’s a fun way to lose weight.

As I was not really that interested in loosing weight (not that I love my excess weight or being heavy), it was enough for me just hearing people and seeing friends in fb share statuses saying Zumba is great! I’ve been there – lost a lot of weight but gained it all back again – and I know that only one thing works when aspiring to lose and maintain a healthy weight – a total lifestyle change requiring a strict adherence to healthy diet and regular exercise.

But something changed my mind! As I watched a Zumba video last night (thanks to my niece Eda who “liked” a Zumba video link in fb), I came to realize there’s one thing I like about Zumba as a good work-out: It’s FUN to do! And so … we decided … we’re gonna give Zumba a try!

And by the way, here’s just an FYI. Zumba is not an official dance from a foreign country. It’s actually a video game made for Wii, Playstation, Kinect, and Xbox. According to one website, Zumba is “loaded with red-hot dance steps, pulsating Latin rhythms and easy-to-follow routines, this invigorating dance-fitness “party” will have you movin’, groovin’ and shakin’ the weight off to the sexy, exotic rhythms of salsa, cumbia, samba, merengue and more!”

Want to have fun AND lose weight? Let’s do ZUMBA!

One thought on “Zumba: A Fun Way to Lose Weight!”

Leave a Reply

