Pancit (or Noodles): Is It Really Chinese?

 

You might be wondering why I asked this question. Well, I’m just curious because I did some research in the Internet earlier today on famous Chinese dishes and from most websites I visited, not one had Pancit (or Noodles in English, lol) on their list.

Let me explain some more… You see, I am preparing for an activity that I and the organization that I belong to called Relief Society will be doing an International Cuisine sort of festival this coming weekend. My group has been assigned to prepare a Chinese Recipe (others will be preparing Spanish dishes, American dishes, Korean dishes, and Malaysian dishes). Since we will need to prepare enough for more or less 200 women (and we expect husbands and children to be present too), I decided to look for something easy to prepare BUT something delicious and visually attractive PLUS, it has to be an authentic Chinese cuisine.

Are you curious what are on most of the lists? Here they are; but after checking them out, tell me if you see anything there that says “pancit” or noodles, okay?

The top 10:

  1. Basic Fried Rice
  2. Chicken Chow Mein
  3. CrabRangoon
  4. Chicken Fried Rice
  5. Egg Rolls
  6. Sweet and Sour Sauce
  7. Hot and Sour Soup
  8. Orange Chicken (Quick and Easy)
  9. Sweet and Sour Pork
  10. Egg Drop Soup

The 2nd Top Ten:

  1. Lettuce Wraps
  2. Sesame Chicken
  3. Peking Duck
  4. Wonton Soup
  5. Shrimp Fried Rice
  6. Fun Fusion Fondue
  7. Potstickers
  8. Beef Wth Broccoli
  9. General Tso’s Chicken
  10. Kung Pao Chicken (Stir-fry)
Oh, before I go, I know Pancit is Chinese alright; maybe it’s not on the list because it’s too common, or maybe too easy to make … or maybe because the authors or webmasters of those sites I visited are not so fond of noodles or pancit. As for me, I’m not cooking pancit simply because I want to share something different … something that those who will be attending will like to try at home. That way, they will be serving their family a new Chinese dish, something they will hopefully love.
Leave a Reply

