I Don’t Have Enough Breast milk … So I Can’t Breastfeed!

It never bothered me before. I did not see anything wrong with it. I have five children, and four of them were mixed-fed with milk formula and my breast milk; and they used baby bottles with their canned milk formula.

Looking back, I now realize it was my pediatrician who gave me instructions on what formula to use and what the mixture should be; like I can now recall her instructions: one is to three, meaning one scoop of milk formula for every three ounces of water.

As excited as I was to have my child (and later children – all five of them) in my arms, I obediently took the canned formula from the nursery, got the baby bottles they used, and went home with our new bundle of joy! And I remember visiting the doctor before finally leaving the hospital for more instructions on how to bathe the baby properly (I had to use sterilized water and the mildest soap available, which was, at that time, Johnson’s Baby Soap), when I should visit again for immunizations, and what to do in case the baby spits her milk, suffers from colic, or develops rashes (a normal occurrence with babies being fed baby formula). She then gave me a list of other formulas to use just in case …

Looking back, boy, those milk formulas were very expensive!

It was different though with my youngest. When he was born, the baby-friendly campaign was just implemented, and we had him roomed-in with me (he shared my room in the hospital right after I gave birth to him). For those who don’t know, before, new born infants were brought into the nursery and they stay there until the day of discharge. With my first four children, I never had the chance to breast feed them in the nursery or nursing station – that was not done before.

So how come I came up with this article?

Well, I talked to a friend last weekend and she just gave birth … and yes, she said exactly those lines I used as title of this article. I promised myself I have to find out as much as I can about breastfeeding.

So here I am, and I am ready to report …  no, share would be the most appropriate word!

Okay … what did I learn?

According to WebMD, an online authority when it comes to information pertaining to health (but it is still best to see a doctor!), the quantity of breast milk will increase as time goes on, as long as the mother continues to nurse her baby and not give any supplement.

WebMD also says that it is just ordinary that on the first few days, there will be very minimal breast milk available. This milk that comes out during the first few days is called colostrom and is BEST for babies. As time progresses, more milk will be produced as long as the baby is allowed to suck.

There are so many benefits that breastfeeding can give to both baby and Mom, but that will be discussed in another article. For now, suffice it to say that if really wanted or desired, there will be enough breast milk to feed your baby; you just have to want it bad enough and be ready to nurse your baby up to six months, or if you are willing, even up to two years!

And before I forget, I did breastfeed all my children. Some only for a few months … but the longest? Almost five years. Tonton, now 13 years old (I hope his friends will never read this hahaha!), still loves to smell my kili kili once in a while. I think he longs to feel the closeness we once had as he was growing up, that’s why at times, he will just come close to me and snuggle like a kitten.

Breastfeeding creates that particular special bond between Mom and child that time will never erase … ♥♥♥

 

Leave a Reply

