Interested to Build Your Family Tree?

 

Family Tree on my maternal side: From the Okit Clan of Bukidnon

Here’s an interesting question for you: do you know the name of your great father? Well, it is possible that you know. My great grandfather’s name was Alejandro, and my father was named after him.

Here’s a follow up question: do you know when your great grandfather was born? I’m sure not very many know this information about their great grandfather, but I do. My great grandfather was born on May 3, 1873 in Vigan, Ilocos Sur.

And I know more about him:

His father’s name was Esteban , and his mother’s name was Juana. They were married on October 18, 1871 in Vigan, Ilocos Sur.

Now you might be wondering where I got all these information.

Let’s just say I am lucky because our family has this vast family history record, and in fact, there’s even a website on our family tree: http://surnames.meaning-of-names.com/genealogy/itchon/ and I am sure great effort has been put forth just to have all these information online.

On my mother side, the Okit’s from Bukidnon has also been very active lately in organizing reunions and as a result, we now have a beautiful family tree (see picture above taken from “Kaliwat hu Okit”, a closed group of relatives in Facebook).

 

Family History Center

Personally I have been a patron to a genealogical research facility called Family History Center. As of today, I have traced my ancestors up to the 8th generation. I now have, for example, records showing that the earliest ancestor I have in my paternal side came from Tangoa, Fukien, China, and he died in March 13, 1802 in Vigan, Ilocos Sur. I also learned from the microfilm record I viewed that he became the Cabeza Actual of Vigan’s meztiso section.

How about you? Do you know who your earliest ancestors are? Do you have a family tree? Would you not like to find out?

For many people who are interested to build their family trees, a common stumbling block is not knowing where to find or get information about their ancestors. Of course there’s the civil registrar and the church records, but access to these records are next to impossible, especially the very old records that are already very fragile and needs to be preserved.

Now here’s the good news: there is a facility that can help you do your family history research for free. It’s a genealogical research facility owned and operated by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints or “Mormon” Church. It’s known as the Family History Center and it has records as early as the 1600’s. These are all in microfilms; church records such as Baptism, Marriage, and Death, as well as Civil Registration records on birth, marriage, and death.

Microfilm Readers and Computers

These Family History Centers are normally situated in an LDS chapel or meetinghouse. Volunteer Family History Consultants are available to help and assist you do your research.

If you are interested, do not hesitate to approach any member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and inquire about the Family History Center; they will be more than glad to help you out.

There’s also a website dedicated to Family History, and if you want to access this website, simply visit https://www.familysearch.org/

 

 

Leave a Reply

