My Love for Reading, Katniss, and the Hunger Games

Self-Help Books

I love reading books!  In fact, I can not sleep unless I read a few pages before finally closing my eyes every night.

For the past … 12 years I think (or probably more), all I’ve read are textbooks and the so-called “Self-Help” books … from Financial Management, English, Statistics, Project Management, Marketing Management, Accounting, Training and Workshop Facilitation, Human Resource, Entrepreneurship, Small Business Management, Leadership, Communication, Sales, Teaching Children Values, Recipe Books, How-To Books (like I recently bought a book that taught me so much about shampoo, bath soap, laundry soap, dishwasher cleaner, toilet bow cleaners, and all types of cleaners – the title: How to Clean Practically Anything hahaha!),  and the most recent buy was a book on Starting an Online Business.

Sometimes I tell my children that soon, I’m gonna have an information overload with all the books I am reading (printed and online) …

Online Books

So I decided very recently (like a week ago) that I’m going to give myself a breather; I’m going to read for enjoyment. I will put on hold reading books for the sake of learning.

And so I started to look for a book that would feed my interest.

I saw one book in my son’s table: the title was Hunger Games!

Hunger Games Book 1

From the moment I started reading the book, I could not put it down. I read the whole book in three hours (or probably 4, but never more than that!). One whole morning of one day, I read the book and enjoyed every minute of it!

Katniss Everdeen

And I could not wait for book 2 and 3!

All of  sudden, every member of my family got hooked, too! Myco got an audio book; April read the e-book, Ella is following suit, and Sarah is excited to join the fun as well. So now we’re all excited and waiting for the movie which is currently being filmed and will be shown next year.

How about you? Have you read a book lately?

Audio Book
Leave a Reply

