Pregnancy Myth or Truth?

When a pregnant woman starts to long or crave for a particular food, how should one respond? Often, the husband is the one most affected by this new experience. Is this craving biologically explainable?  How can this be handled?

When I had Myco, the first sign that I was pregnant was my longing for banana cue. There’s nothing quite special or different in that, except that I normally do not like banana cue. To make it worst, I wanted one with burnt caramel on top of it.

Then the next food I asked Romel to buy for me regularly was Hungarian Goulash. This is spaghetti with very big meat balls in them, with delicious tomato sauce and cheese!!! This was sold only in Ororama Food Court.

Then the last food item in the list was Champorado!!!

And mind you, it should be very chocolatey, with lots of milk and sugar, and frozen cold, and eaten when everyone in the house were already sleeping!

Daddy & a few days old Myco
Daddy & a few days old Myco

Then Ella came. I craved for Palabok (from Sky Burger) everyday, and on those days when Romel didn’t buy me Palabok? I cried like a baby!!!

Mommy 8 months pregnant with Ella ♥
Mommy 8 months pregnant with Ella ♥

Ella ♥
Ella ♥

With April I craved for hard-boiled eggs and Siopao.

But, I only ate the white parts ha ha ha! And whenever we would watch a movie, I’d ask Romel to buy me hard boiled eggs for snacks! I can still remember how embarrassed he was when I cracked open the eggs shells on the back of the seats  ;D

Mommy waiting for April Ann
Mommy waiting for April Ann
Mommy 8 months pregnant with April Ann
Mommy 8 months pregnant with April Ann

April Ann ♥
April Ann ♥

For Sarah, well, the longing for Champorado came back!

Still very chocolatey, sweet, and chilled well!

And for this particular pregnancy, I loved mud crabs!

Mommy heavy with Sarah Mae ♥
Mommy heavy with Sarah Mae ♥

Sarah Mae ♥
Sarah Mae ♥

Last but not the least (for now he he he!),  was when I had Romelson!

Ironically, I craved again for hard boiled eggs, and ate only the egg whites. Then again there’s the ever dependable Siopao.

Surprisingly, it was only in this pregnancy that I hated the smell of sauteed garlic, onion, and tomatoes!  During this time we were operating a food outlet in Malaybalay, and during food preparation time, I would go very far from the kitchen just to avoid the smell. This lasted for four months, hah!

Tonton in Mommy's tummy
Tonton in Mommy's tummy

Daddy and Romelson ♥
Daddy and Romelson ♥

Myth? Truth?

For one, I know that I wanted those foods very very badly.

Second, that the craving actually disappeared after a period of time.

Third, that during my five (5) pregnancies, I did not only hate some foods, I also hated seeing particular people too!

What helped?

Romel was very supportive.

Most days he bought me the food I wanted.

However, there were also times he wasn’t there, for he had to work too!, and so I bought the food i wanted myself, and brought along a child or two.

Looking back and remembering all those experiences,  I could not help but smile.

So for my legacy, I share them to my children.

As it brings back great old memories, it fosters a stronger bond between me and my children.

Remembering too makes me realize how blessed I am to have such a wonderful and supportive husband.

I will always feel deep gratitude for Romel for his sacrifices, his understanding, his generosity, and his love.

Us now ... after 25 years ♥
Us now ... after 25 years ♥

4 thoughts on “Pregnancy Myth or Truth?”

    1. Thanks Ms Gold ;D Start making your own journal of love too! It will do wonders to you especially when things don’t go as they should … or more so when things are – as you pray them to be ♥

      Love,
      MommyTins

  1. you’re lucky cause you have your supporting hisband. I’m 6 months preggy to my baby Bella and I always crave for banana que. I ask my hubby to buy some for me but then he refused to go and buy and told me can you bear the baby if she’ll grow big because of rating those foods?
    I felt upset so i just turn my back at him and cried and he just slept.I just wish he could be more supportive and understanding esp. now that im emotional.

    1. Hey! Don’t take it badly. Men are sometimes like that and it’s okay. Don’t be mad at him. He’s actually concerned about your well-being and he doesn’t want you to have a hard time. You see, when we eat too much while pregnant, chances are we’ll gain weight and we might have difficulty giving birth.

      But I don’t see anything wrong with giving in to your pregnancy cravings. That’s hormonal! Just don’t overeat. And if you really want to eat anything, try to get it yourself hahaha! I did that and it worked!

      I wish you well on your pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

